The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 1st, 2024, 5:25pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
sample and hold (Read 182 times)
safwatonline

sample and hold
Jan 06th, 2008, 6:35am

i am new to VHDL-AMS and i am trying to model a sample and hold block in time domain.
i made this code but it aint working any hints please !
Quote:
LIBRARY IEEE_PROPOSED;
USE IEEE_PROPOSED.ELECTRICAL_SYSTEMS.ALL;
library ieee;
use ieee.math_real.all;
use IEEE.std_logic_1164.all;
ENTITY tro_sh IS
PORT
(
     terminal vin, vout, vss: electrical;
     signal clk : in std_logic
);
END tro_sh;

ARCHITECTURE arch OF tro_sh IS
quantity vi across ii through vin to vss;
quantity vo across vout to vss;
signal samp : real :=0.0;
BEGIN
sampling:process
begin
wait until (clk'event and clk= '1');
     samp <= vi;
end process sampling;
     vo == samp;
break on clk;
END arch;

View Profile   IP Logged
mikej

Re: sample and hold
Reply #1 - Jan 8th, 2008, 11:38am

Try using the zero-order hold ('zoh) attribute, which is essentially a sample-hold function. The attribute can be used with any quantity and has the following syntax:

Q'zoh(T,initial_delay)

where "Q" is the quantity to be sampled, "T" is the sampling interval, and "initial_delay" is the delay before the first sample is taken. The result of the command is a quantity of the same type as Q. Time T must be a static expression of type real and greater than 0.0. Initial_delay must be a static expression of type real and non-negative. If you don't need a delay before the first sample is taken, you can use the following syntax:

Q'zoh(T)

View Profile   IP Logged
safwatonline

Reply #2 - Jan 9th, 2008, 12:18pm

Thanks for ur answer, but i want the model to sample the analog input quantity when a clock signal coming from another terminal arrives i.e. i want to sample on the edge of a signal coming from a terminal and not at fixed period.

View Profile   IP Logged
Sameer Kher