The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 29th, 2024, 6:56am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How to plot MOSFET model parameters like gds in Cadence using GUI? (Read 4471 times)
Bean Nakamura

How to plot MOSFET model parameters like gds in Cadence using GUI?
Feb 28th, 2017, 6:07am

Hello all,
I hope you don't mind me asking as I'm an undergrad just starting to venture into the IC design realm. As per the question above, I would like to plot some intrinsic parameters (Cgs or gds or vth) when the MOSFET biasing is swept over a range of values. How do I go about doing that via GUI? I have no experience on netlisting or SKILL and have definitely looked up the manual which made little to no sense to me. Is there somewhere I can get examples of easy-to-understand and practical Cadence netlists for undergrad level? A pdf would be nice. Also, side question, how is an op amp designed in the industry? The models given to us in class are Level 1 parameters while the PDK used is Level 54. A lot of the pre-calculated values using the model lead to very different gain values, which is why I wanted to observe the parameters when biased differently. Thanks again and sorry for the noobish question.

Regards.

View Profile   IP Logged
ULPAnalog
Community Member

Re: How to plot MOSFET model parameters like gds in Cadence using GUI?
Reply #1 - Feb 28th, 2017, 9:26am

Quote:
I would like to plot some intrinsic parameters (Cgs or gds or vth) when the MOSFET biasing is swept over a range of values. How do I go about doing that via GUI

You may want to have a look at http://community.cadence.com/cadence_technology_forums/f/33/t/21507

Quote:
how is an op amp designed in the industry? The models given to us in class are Level 1 parameters while the PDK used is Level 54.

I usually use the method of gm/Id for designing. You can search for the lecture notes of Prof. Boris Murmann on the same.

View Profile   IP Logged