The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 29th, 2024, 4:41am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Testbenching with mixed signals? WREAL (Read 2275 times)
Lala878

Testbenching with mixed signals? WREAL
Jul 20th, 2016, 8:06am

Hi all,

I am having trouble writing a model in Verilog-AMS using wreal types.
It's a model of a PLL and I was given a huge testbench that was made for the transistor level design, etc. ...

anyway, I am still a newbie and for starters I just want to check the values of the ports I am trying to use...

The PLL uses fractional N divider block and I wanted to make use of the signals to build the output of the feedback loop...

The equation for output frequency consists of 30-bit input signals and 7-bit input signals.
I am having trouble defining them and driving them in my testbench to test if the values are handled correctly in the buses.

This is what I did (conceptually):

module fracN_div(in, out, dig1, dig2)
input wreal in;
real rin;
input dig1, dig2;
wire [7:0] dig1;
wire [29:0] dig2;

endmodule

making a schematic testbench in AMS Designer (virtuoso), how can I define the bits of the dig1 and dig2 to be made of digital signals?
I tried hooking them up to a vdc of 1.1V input (the specified input of signals) for logic 1 and hooked them to gnd for logic 0, but when I check the wire values using $display I get weird outputs (00000x0 or 0)
(I have connected them so that it should read 7'b2 )
I tried stating them as logic but that is by default in verilog-ams and it didn't help...

can someone help?

View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Re: Testbenching with mixed signals? WREAL
Reply #1 - Jul 24th, 2016, 12:47am