The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Mar 28th, 2024, 10:20am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Noise simulation using Verilog-A (Read 8956 times)
giuls

Noise simulation using Verilog-A
Jun 24th, 2016, 3:11am

Hi everyone,

I'm really really new to verilog-A and I need to do a noise simulation of a circuit containing a certain device.

By reading different articles or documentation in general, I've noticed that there are some functions in verilog-A, like white_noise(), flicker_noise(), that can be used for this purpose.
But i'm not able to find out what they actually do, for instance:

I(ia)<+white_noise(4*`P_K*T);

(ia in this case should be a signal port)Does this line add a noise current generator, which generates a current equals to 4*K*T (where K is the boltzmann constant and T is the temperature) to the node "ia"?

If that's so, How can i add, for example, a noise current generator which generates a shut noise (with a Power Spectral Density of 2*q*Id where q is the electron charge, and Id is the drain current)?

would this line:

I(d)<+white_noise(2*q*id);

be correct for that? (my doubt here is that the shut noise does not have a gaussian statistic, like the white noise, but a poissonian one)

Thank you for your help.

View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Re: Noise simulation using Verilog-A
Reply #1 - Jun 25th, 2016, 11:36am

Shut noise?  Do you mean shot noise? Let's assume you do, because I have never heard of shut noise.
Code:
I(ia) <+ white_noise(4*`P_Q*ic) 

You've got it. Your right that white_noise models a Gaussian process, but that is the right model for shot noise.

It is my understand shot noise is a Poisson process for individual electrons, but when considering the electrons in mass the distribution becomes Gaussian due to the law of large numbers.  This is described in the Wikipedia article on shot noise:
Quote: