The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 25th, 2024, 3:59pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Consumption measurement (Read 3127 times)
Torq

Consumption measurement
Nov 03rd, 2015, 5:51am

Hi!
I'm new in Verilog-a. The question is: i it possible to measure total current in the given time interval?

For example, i have a analog design with vdd - power net and gnd - ground.
Next, i use the voltage source:  V(vdd) <+ 1;
It is easy to measure the dinamic current also: current = I(gnd,vdd);

After that, i put iccs for copying the current source: I(v_measure1,gnd) <+ 1*current;  loaded to 1 Ohm:  V(v_measure1) <+ 1*I(v_measure1,gnd);  And, I am trying to build voltage controlling source with idt function: V(v_measure2) <+ idtmod(V(v_measure1));  It is not working. What is wrong? Is any simple examples exists, since it is common task to calculate the supply consumption?

Thanx!

View Profile   IP Logged
Ken Kundert
Global Moderator

Silicon Valley
Re: Consumption measurement
Reply #1 - Nov 4th, 2015, 1:00am

It is not at all clear what you want. You say you want the total current, but then you start using idt() which seems like it would compute the charge. When you say total current, do you mean charge?

Also, you ask for why your model is not working, but you only give us little fragments of your model and give no information on what it is doing that seems wrong to you. That makes it very difficult to figure out what you are doing and what might be going wrong. Just give the whole model.

You seem to be trying to use idtmod. That is probably not what you want.

-Ken

View Profile WWW   IP Logged
Torq

Reply #2 - Nov 4th, 2015, 3:22am

Hello, Ken!