The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 18th, 2024, 8:12am
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Simulator accuracy of a 2.5GHz phase interpolator (Read 9558 times)
Stephan Walter

Simulator accuracy of a 2.5GHz phase interpolator
Apr 13th, 2015, 7:05am

Hi,

I am a physics diploma student and have designed a 2.5 GHz 8Bit phase interpolator in the 65nm TSMC process.

Depending on the specifications, I require a zero crossing resolution of at least 780fs. To quantify the DNL and INL error of the PI, a resolution of 100fs would be great. During the transient simulations with Spectre it has shown, that even the conservative preset was too inaccurate for this. I use a Verilog-AMS module to determine the settling of the PI, zero crossing (100fs resolution) and sweep through the possible input vectors. This lead to the point, that the simulation time have to be set to 20us.

To receive more or less accurate results, i have to tighten the reltol to at least 1e-8. Otherwise, the results of independent characterization runs are uncorrelated. This lead to simulation times of 6h+ for a single corner with ideal input clocks and power supply. This simulation times are prohibitive for extracted view, noise and mismatch analysis. The through the DNL results computed INL show a drift of the zero crossing of the output signals (~100fs per selection) as well as some randomness of the DNL results in range of up to 0.5-1ps even with the tighten reltol.

An idea was to use a shooting PSS analysis to reduce the simulation time or even the inaccuracy, because an unsettled circuit is impossible if the tstab is high enough.