The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
Apr 19th, 2024, 12:23pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Understanding resistor usage (Read 4361 times)
GregS

Understanding resistor usage
Sep 10th, 2013, 12:21pm

Friends,

I'm new to Verilog-A/Verilog-AMS, and I've run into something that I can quite explain.  I've tried to setup a resistive load on an electrical input to my model, and I get an error from the simulator when I use one coding style over another.  The message looks like this:

FATAL: The following branches form a loop of rigid branches (shorts) when added to the circuit

I thought this code was equivalent, but obviously it's not, or I have an error somewhere else.

Coding example #1:
Define a resistor model like this:

module res (PLUS, MINUS );

inout PLUS, MINUS;
electrical PLUS, MINUS;
parameter real r=1 exclude 0;

analog
 begin
   I(PLUS,MINUS) <+ V(PLUS,MINUS)/r;
 end
endmodule

Instantiate this reistor model in another model like this:

module blah (VDDIO, VSS);
inout VDDIO;
inout VSS;
electrical VDDIO;
electrical VSS;
real Ivddio;
res #(.r(10k)) load7 (.PLUS(VDDIO), .MINUS(VSS));

analog
 begin
    Ivddio = I(VDDIO,VSS); <--This creates an error during simulation
 end
endmodule

Coding example #2:
module blah (VDDIO, VSS);
inout VDDIO;
inout VSS;
electrical VDDIO;
electrical VSS;
real Ivddio;

analog
 begin
    I(VDDIO,VSS) <+ V(VDDIO,VSS)/10k;
    Ivddio = I(VDDIO,VSS);
 end
endmodule

In the 2nd example, I'm not instantiating the resistor, I'm simply encoding the resistive load into the voltage to current relationship, and 2nd example operates like I expect, no errors and I can monitor my current through the resistive load in simulation  In the first example, if I code the line to monitor the current, the FATAL error occurs.  Any ideas why this is treated differently?  I must be missing something basic.

Thanks for your help.....

View Profile   IP Logged
boe
Community Fellow