The Designer's Guide Community
Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register. Please follow the Forum guidelines.
May 18th, 2024, 8:48pm
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
CMOS Self-Biased Cascode Power Amplifier (Read 9713 times)
baab

EA
CMOS Self-Biased Cascode Power Amplifier
Sep 08th, 2013, 3:40am

Hi,
I am studying the article "A 2.4-GHz 0.18-um CMOS Self-Biased Cascode Power Amplifier" (attached). Here are what I am confused. Please help. Thank you.

Class_1_PA_text.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
baab

EA
Re: CMOS Self-Biased Cascode Power Amplifier
Reply #1 - Sep 8th, 2013, 3:41am

Second image.

Class_I_PA_modified.JPG
View Profile   IP Logged
baab

EA
Reply #2 - Sep 8th, 2013, 3:46am

The article:

View Profile   IP Logged
raja.cedt
Senior Fellow

Germany
Reply #3 - Sep 8th, 2013, 5:12am

Hello,
I am not an RF expert, i will try to ans what i know.

1. Dc choke you can't integrate on chip, in principle RC or LC works fine.

2. min value of Cascode gate voltage should be equal to Vth+2*vov and max below Vo+vth, since there is an inductor at the o/p DC operating point is around vdd, so Vdd at gate make scene.

3. I guess this is to create 50 Ohm or required real input impedance with out having noisy resister at the input...

Thanks,
Raj.

View Profile WWW raja.sekhar86   IP Logged
baab

EA
Reply #4 - Sep 8th, 2013, 5:36am

Thank you, Raj.
Quote:
1. Dc choke you can't integrate on chip, in principle RC or LC works fine.

I am not sure but I usually see that RF choke is used in chips.
But inductor will be better than resistor? I think if we use resistor, there will be some energy dissipated thermally. If inductor is used no RF signal flows through it and no losses but when the resistor Rg is used RF signal will flow through it to ground and causes losses.
Quote:
2. min value of Cascode gate voltage should be equal to Vth+2*vov and max below Vo+vth, since there is an inductor at the o/p DC operating point is around vdd, so Vdd at gate make scene.